Hogwarts School of Witchsraft and Wizardry

Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry is a setting in J. K. Rowling's best-selling Harry Potter series. In the series, it is a school of magic for witches and wizards between the ages of eleven and eighteen living in the United Kingdom and Ireland.[2] Six of the seven books in the series are largely set at the school, with each book lasting the equivalent of one school year. In Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows, most of the book is set outside Hogwarts as main characters Harry Potter, Ron Weasley, and Hermione Granger do not attend their final year of school (though Rowling has stated that Hermione eventually does return to school to complete her N.E.W.T. examinations).[3] The climactic battle of the book, and the series, however, is set at Hogwarts.

Rowling has suggested that she may have inadvertently taken the name from the hogwort plant (Croton capitatus), which she had seen at Kew Gardens some time before writing the Harry Potter series.[4][5] Hogwarts school was voted as the 36th best Scottish educational establishment in an online ranking, outranking Edinburgh's Loretto School.[6]

You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed. You can leave a response.
1 Response